Deadpool Review

So on Valentine’s Day I did the most romantic thing possible, I took my girlfriend to see Deadpool. You may be thinking where’s the romance, but in fact Deadpool is actually a love story, Deadpool even says so himself!

Deadpool follows the classic superhero story – the evil villain kidnaps the girl and the hero sets out to rescue her. The extra ingredients added to this simple recipe like the gory violence and crude humour are what really sets it apart from the rest of the other superhero movies.

Ryan Reynolds portrayal of Deadpool is first class. I honestly don’t think anyone else could have done a better job at capturing the whole Deadpool character, you can really tell that Reynolds clearly enjoys playing the role. The additions Colossus and Negasonic Teenage Warhead are fun inclusions and I hope to see them in future Marvel films.

If I were to be in anyway critical of the film, the only issue I have is that, in my opinion, there could have been more action scenes. There were times when I thought the focus was more on creating a rich backstory for Deadpool when I wanted to see him kicking some more ass! But to be honest I thought the balance was fair and the depth of the background to Wade Wilson made him a more likeable character.

All in all, Deadpool is an absolutely fantastic film, it’s safe to say in terms of my expectations it went above and beyond, and right up Main Street!

Rating: 8.2 / 10

Leave a Reply

