The Division Review

I LOVE THIS GAME! The Division is possibly one of my favourite games of recent years! Prior to its release I didn’t know too much about it, only that there was a lot of hype surrounding it. It was only until I watched a few videos on YouTube of the beta that I decided I would purchase The Division rather than Far Cry Primal, and judging by my addiction to the game already, I think I made the right choice! That being said, the game is far from flawless so I’ll get the negatives out of the way first…

This game is hard. I mean really hard! I mean I love a challenge just as much as the next guy but damn this game tests your metal! The enemy AI are unbelievably hard to defeat, they soak up bullets like they’re going out fashion. This is particularly annoying when it comes to head shots as you can rarely ever one shot kill an enemy. That being said, the sense of achievement when you finally take out a boss enemy and he drops a rare loot item is highly satisfying.

Another issue I have with the game is the longevity of it, the maximum level is level 30 and considering I’m level 12 after about 10 hours of gameplay, this worries me. Also in regards to the longevity of the game, there is not much differentiation. What I mean by this is there is only 4 types of enemy AI to play against, this makes a lot of encounters with enemies feel very repetitive.

The best part of this game is undoubtedly the ‘Dark Zone’, an area of the game world where players can join other players online to either team up to carry out tasks, or ‘go rogue’ by taking out other agents. The Dark Zone is great, you never know what’s going to happen – whether your new found allies will turn on you to steal your loot or whether they’ll remain faithful to you before heading separate ways. The Dark Zone leads to some truly memorable moments!

The game is set in an almost desolate New York and the attention to detail is fantastic. Whilst the map as a whole feels quite small as apposed to say the GTA 5 map, the detail of it is brilliant! There a number of buildings you can enter to avoid enemy fire, the sewer system which you can take to avoid combat and the ‘Snow Drop’, the system that regulates the weather is amazing, you can be patrolling the streets when all of a sudden a snow storm hit and you lose all visibility. 

Overall, I think this is one of those games that you’ll either love or hate. Personally I’m loving running around with my friends taking out rogue agents in the Dark Zone, but if you’re the type of player who prefers to play alone, I’d stick to something else.

Rating: 7.5 / 10

Leave a Reply

