Call of Duty Modern Warfare Remastered Review

Oh my god. THE NOSTALGIA. I have missed this game so much! From the loading screen with that joyous music to those infamous cutscenes setting the scene for each of the campaign missions, it makes me so giddy! I can’t think of a game in recent months which has fed my hunger to sit down and play for hours on end without getting the slightest bit bored. 

Campaign

I didn’t actually realise how amazing this campaign was! The storyline is so gripping and involving of the audience, it could easily be the plot for a movie! I think it must be one of the first video games which I had an emotional connection with the characters – I actually cared about my AI in the game, if they were under heavy fire I’d make the time and effort to run over and protect them. The gameplay was just as crisp as I remembered it to be and I can’t wait to go back and complete the whole campaign on Veteran difficulty! I must have spent about an hour just trying to complete the cargo run in a quick as time as possible. Even simple things such as picking up enemy intel brings back so many great memories of playing through the levels searching high and low for them.

Multiplayer

Yet again the memories are brought back to how good this game truly was. It didn’t take long for me to get back into the swing of things and back to the red hot form I left way back in 2008! Multiplayer is just as fun and exciting as it was all those years ago, however the shiny gloss gives it a fresh new feel. The only disappoint from the multiplayer aspect in my opinion is that there is only 10 maps available, as opposed to the 20 which the first instalment had. However I have heard that some of the other maps will be added as free DLC soon.

Whilst I wasn’t overly impressed with Infinite Warfare I must say that I am very impressed with what Infinity Ward did with Modern Warfare and it is a welcomed return for the best selling classic.

Buy, wait for sale or avoid? Sadly to pick up Modern Warfare Remastered, you also have To buy Infinite Warfare. That being said, the duo seem to have come down in price in recent weeks so I would recommend picking up at a good price!

Rating: 8.4/10

Leave a Reply

