Rogue One Review

Rogue One follows the story of Jyn Erso (Felicity Jones) and her quest in acquiring the plans for the Death Star. The films bridges the gap between Revenge of the Sith and A New Hope and reveals how the Rebels have come about obtaining the plans to the Death Star, which is seen at the beginning of A New Hope. 

Rogue One was arguably, alongside Civil War, the film I was looking forward to seeing most in 2016. The trailers only helped aid my excitement, finally there was set to be a movie which focused on huge battles in the Star Wars universe, something which I had been recreating for years as a kid with my own Star Wars Lego. Given the amount of hype I had created in my head surrounding the film I decided to go and see it in IMAX 3D… 

I absolutely loved Rogue One! I think this is possibly one of my favourite Star Wars films to date! The story is fantastic and I couldn’t have imagined a better way in which Episode 3 and 4 be linked together. There are a number of moments throughout where my nostalgia levels were going through the roof with references back to the Clone Wars. Initially I thought that creating a smooth transition of the acquisition of the Death Star plans to Episode 4 would be somewhat difficult however this was achieved with such ease – it was if George Lucas had already written the blueprint to the events of Rogue One back in 1977!

What I was most looking forward to seeing in Rogue One was vast, gripping battles between the Rebels and the Empire and to my joy this happens straight from the off! Throughout the film there are a number of sequences where I was nearly falling off my chair because there was so much going on! Not only is the action gripping and keeps you longing for more, the characters of Rogue One are fantastic! I felt as if I had an emotional connection with them all. 

The only issue I have with Rogue One is the CGI. CGI is used to recreate Grand Moff Tarkin, a character who has a huge role in the creation of the Death Star and a lead role in Episode 4. This issue I have is that I think they have overdone the amount of CGI used to create him, he looks more like someone from the Star Wars Rebels animated series! Whilst I understand that actor Peter Cushing who played Tarkin in the originals’ is sadly no longer with us to resurrect the role, I found myself focusing on how scary the CGI Tarkin looked rather than focusing on the action on screen. That said, there is a scene at the end of the film with a CGI Princess Leia, where she looks flawless and just like Carrie Fisher did in A New Hope!

Go and watch, wait for the DVD or avoid altogether? – GO AND WATCH OBVIOUSLY! I’m already planning on which Lego sets I am going to buy to recreate scenes from the film!

Rating: 8.7/10

One Comment Add yours

  1. dalecooper57 says:

    Loved it, and the final frame was genuinely poignant.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

