Forza Horizon 3 Review

Forza Horizon 3 is a game which I have not been able to put down since I first started playing and considering it ranked at number 2 in my top games of 2016, I thought it was only fair to give it the review it deserved! 

Forza Horizon 3 is the follow up to Forza Horizon 2 and is the third instalment of the ‘Horizon’ series. The game is set in Australia in an open-world environment and the map is twice the size of Forza Horizon 2’s map. 

Upon first picking up Forza Horizon 3, you are thrown into the action straight away. Your first real task pits you against a helicopter carrying a jeep whilst you race to the finish line. Whilst your focus is on winning the race it’s hard not to take in the lush environment of the forest whilst a jeep is swinging above the treetops just above you. This is just a taste into the variety of different challenges available to you throughout, ranging from drift challenges to fast paced street races. Or maybe you’d rather slow things down and just explore the numerous sights and landmarks of Australia. Whichever takes your fancy, there is plenty to keep you entertained.

Whether you want to take that Ferrari 458 you’ve always dreamed of having out for a spin, or take the scenic route along Bryron Bay in your Caterham Superlight R500, you will not be disappointed with the wealth of cars available for you to test out. Personally I love American muscle cars, especially old ones, so I have immensely enjoyed hurtling along the coastline in my 1969 Mustang. The enjoyment of taking the latest addition to your garage out for a spin is aided with breath-taking visuals. Horizon 3 really flexes the muscles of the Xbox One when it comes to graphics, visually the game is beautiful and bar the odd moment of poor frame rate, I can only imagine how good this game would look in 4K. 

My only complaint I have with the game, and trust me there aren’t many, is the lack of splitscreen multiplayer. I love nothing more than challenging my buddies to a race when they are round at my house, but sadly this was a feature not included in Horizon 3. Whilst there is online co-operative multiplayer, adding a splitscreen element would make this game near perfect.

Overall this is the best Forza game to date and the best open-world racing game since Burnout Paradise. I just can’t get enough of this game and I am extremely tempted to invest in the Blizzard Mountain DLC!

Buy, wait for sale or avoid? BUY BUY BUY!

Rating: 9.3/10

Leave a Reply

