Pirates of the Caribbean Dead Men Tell No Tale: Review

After 6 years away from the big screen, Jack Sparrow is back in what is, in my opinion, one of the best Disney films in a long while! Pirates of the Caribbean Dead Men Tell No Tale is the fifth instalment in the Pirates of the Caribbean series. The story follows Jack Sparrow as he forges an uneasy alliance with astronomer Carina and Will Turner’s son, Henry Turner, as they voyage across the sea seeking out the legendary Trident of Poseidon. 

What I love most about this film is the villain, Salazar. Originally a Spanish Navy officer, Salazar sailed the seas hunting pirates until he was tricked by Jack and sailed into the Devil’s Triangle where Salazar and his crew became undead. Salazar is one of the best villains I think I have seen in recent years, he reminded me a lot of Darth Vader – how they both have such a huge onscreen presence and take absolutely no shit from anyone, killing anyone that gets in his way. He is definitely the scariest villain from the Pirates series and conveys his ferocity from the off. His crew is awesome as well, just as scary as Salazar and making for one very intimidating army.

I’m in two minds about the plot, I enjoy the whole concept of Will’s son searching for the Trident of Poseidon to get rid of Will’s curse makes sense and flows with the the rest of the series. However, what bugs me is how there has been no mention whatsoever of the Trident of Poseidon in any of the previous films, and whilst I understand about there being different ideas for different films etc, in all of the previous films everyone has acted as if the treasure which was in focus for that particular film is the greatest treasure of them all whereas in reality it appears that the Trident is. Hopefully in future films there will be less of a focus on the treasure and a differing storyline, perhaps more of exploration?

This is definitely a film for the fans of the Pirates series as there are a number of easter eggs dotted throughout, obviously with such a focus on attempting to clear the sea of all curses so that Will Turner can be free, shows that this film has more to do with 1, 2 and 3 of the pirates series rather than the fourth movie. I love how members of the original cast are retained in each film for example Gibbs and Scrum, which makes the film feel a lot more familiar, which helps after the considerable amount of time there has been between Worlds End and Dead Men Tell No Tale. The post credits scene was awesome as well – be sure to check back soon as I will be posting my thoughts on where the Pirates series is going following this!

The only disappointment I have with Dead Men Tell No Tale is the lack of ship battles! Ship battles are something we see in an abundance in the first three films however there was a disappointing lack of them for my liking in the latest two instalments. Sure there are plenty of battles in various locations in the film, however I loved seeing the firepower of the Black Pearl as it sails up to enemy ships and engages them in a battle to the death!

Go and watch, wait for the DVD or avoid altogether? – Pirates of the Caribbean Dead Men Tell No Tale is arguably one of the best in the series so make sure you go and give it a watch!

Rating: 8.5/10

7 Comments Add yours

  1. I thought the villain Salazar was hugely wasted. After a complex bad guy like Blackbeard, we get a one-note villain. It’s the fault of the script, not the actor. Also, there were too many scenes played just for laughs and action sequences that went on and on just past the point where they were funny, like the bank vault heist, until it just seemed dumb. I was hugely disappointed in the whole film.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chazzabrown says:

      I loved Salazar, wish we got to see more of him, I felt as if he wasn’t developed enough! Yeah, some scenes did go a bit OTT like the vault heist, I agree. I still enjoyed the film nonetheless!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. pinkcoma says:

    I love Johnny Depp and all of the Pirates of the Caribbean movies. But I was a little skeptical once I saw the trailler. However, I do want to watch it. Great post!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I didn’t like that film,cause sparrow had been drunk most of the time had no good scenes like dead man’s chest…Please visit my blog and follow if you like my work…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Srijana says:

    I love this series but haven’t seen the latest instalment 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chazzabrown says:

      It’s great, I’m sure you’ll love it!

      Like

  5. I saw this one with my dad at the cinemas. Loved It!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

